DIY body wash

This body wash is super easy and can be adapted to make you smell your own particular brand of delicious.  It’s very similar to my  foaming hand wash but I thicken the soap with salt so that it’s more of a gel.

 

Ingredients

1/3 cup liquid castile soap (I buy mine locally in bulk)

2/3 cup water

few drop of essential oil (I use lemongrass)

1/2 tbsp salt (to thicken)

 

Method

Combine castile soap and water ( I think I usually add the essential oil at this stage but I forgot this time)

 

Make a salt solution to thick the soap by separately adding 1/2 salt to 1/4 cup boiling water – stir til dissolved.

Add salt solution to soap VERY gradually.  I usually add about 1 tsp at a time and then mix thoroughly.  The mixture will look a bit like egg drop soup but if you keep stirring the solid bits will re-dissolve.  Keep adding the salt solution until you reach the required thickness or just under – the soap will thicken a bit further over the next couple of days

 

If you’re impatient (like me!) you might go a bit too far and the soap will curdle (I think this is solid bits of soap separating from the water).  This can be rescued by gently heating the soap and stirring until it re-dissolves.  Hooray!

img_20170204_1307361

 

Once your soap reached a nice gel consistency add the essential oils (if you haven’t already) then transfer to dispenser.  And voila!

2 thoughts on “DIY body wash

Leave a Reply

